Welcoming 2011

3 02 2011

A tradition is to fire firecrackers early in the morning, like 6am, of the first day of the year, called 初一 (chū yī).

I was in the bed in Anqing and I took this video just to give an idea about the sound..

CNY in AnqingOf course at midnight the celebrations had been more common also at the eyes of us Western people, especially after that historically the fireworks were brought to Europe from.. China!

The wonderful location of the new year midnight celebrations is the Anqing tower temple (or pagoda) called Zhèn fēng. But entering the tower and the temple had been a challenge. I think I was praying not for a good year but just to survive the night!! 🙂

Quite cool at midnight when 2 other traditions took place in the temple:

  • in the main temple room there was a typical huge bronze bell that at midnight was struck with the solid wood  horizontal pool, with several people vigorously oscillating it from side to side, putting all their body on the pole and more people trying to get on that
  • at the same time all the other people present in the room starts throwing coins at the bell, other traditions for good luck in the year to come

CNY in Anqing
Let’s just say it was a challenge to breath in the room at midnight!!!





Happy Chinese New Year!!!!

3 02 2011

新年快乐!!!! Xīn nián kuài lè!!!!
Happy New Year!!!!

happy new chinese year

 

me and Ting TingRight now I am in Anqing, Veronika’s home town, celebrating new year with her family. Like the first time I came to China I get again the chance to live the New Year tradition with a special family environment. Always the best way for me to experience places and people and traditions!

Today it starts the year of the rabbit.. but I do not want to be a rabbit and run away from this sometimes scary new life!

I had a blue day, not the first, not the last that my frustration need an escape valve. I always knew it would have not been an easy experience. Sometimes it goes very well and I forget it. I must not expect too much from myself, especially at work: if normally it takes some time to find your own place in a new company, I must give myself more time over here.

And just a couple of days ago I have received a bonus and a positive year evaluation from my managers… probably they are more positive about me than.. me.. as usual!!

So, my dear friends and readers out there, even if you stumbled by pure chance on this blog today, since I am sure I am enjoying great Chinese food, I want to wish you happy new year in a special (food) way.. with wonderful memory from marzipan Easter rabbits!!! And memories of friends, babies and all that matters!!! So, to all of you:

Best wishes for the year of the rabbit!!

marzipan easter rabbits

新年快乐!!!! Xīn nián kuài lè!!!!
Happy New Year!!!!