Home dojo in Hefei

5 03 2011

Spring is coming so instead of only cleaning, I finally organized in the proper way the tatami that my dear friends from Hangzhou Aikido dojo sent me some time ago.

Some proper cleaning of a room that otherwise has always been empty collecting dust, followed by opening the tough, huge, heavy package of mats and and start the placing..

home dojo home dojo
home dojo

Some basic work to place a 3 by 3 square, one straight at the entrance, and still 3 mats left.. and right after washing my hands, even before washing the tatami, I took some ukemi!!!

home dojo
home dojo home dojo

Last step, after enjoying the feeling of the mats (yes, I even took a few shikko steps! At home, living at the 13th floor with neighbors below I won’t do much more than suwariwaza techniques!!), set the picture and a few Aikido items to warm up the place:

home dojo home dojo

home dojo
…but my heart, my spirit, my Aikido love belongs to Jūshinkan:

O'sensei & Jūshinkan

The towel is a lovely present of Kumiko-san, amazing good Aikido from Tokyo!

Actions

Information

8 responses

5 03 2011
Thomas

Haha cool xD I allways thought that when ever I get a place to live by myself, why don’t just make a personal dojo out of it xD

Like

7 03 2011
aikidude

Get a house or a first floor apartment 😉

Like

5 03 2011
aikimama

Niiiiiiiice! Another reason to visit!
and very nice to hear JuShinKan stays close to your heart! As a matter of fact, JuSHinKan is washing and moving 150 m2 of its very own new (second-hand…) mats today. And of course, we will be testint them too.
Wish you were here!
Aiki-hugs-o-nage! Jac.

Like

7 03 2011
Svein

Oh yeah!!! 😉

Like

7 03 2011
Bob

Hi there – – cool dojo!!!!! I can see some Iai practice coming into play again there. Good to see your spirits are high and all is fine in china. Miss your guidance over here, but we are progressing with attending more seminars , Jorma, Endo , Marc Bachraty etc. Hopefully when we meet up you will see some improvement . :-)))))).

Jushinkan still going strong and looking for its own dojo oportunities, l but a little bigger than “HefeiKan”. -take care

Like

7 03 2011
aikidude

I am more worried you will see my backward un-improvements as soon as we will practice together next time….

😦

Like

7 03 2011
Sverre

Quite small…
but perfect for koshinage. 🙂
(wonder what your downstairs neighbour will think, or maybe not).

Congrats!

Like

7 03 2011
aikidude

..given I lived at the last floor, it is good only for extremely soft ukemi and shikko and seiza sitting 😉

and already like that I am worried.. not about what the neighbor would say (I do not understand them anyway!) but what they would do.. 😉

Like

Leave a Reply

