Western meals!

1 08 2011

gnocchi alla siciliana

gnocchi alla siciliana

panini with cheese and prosciutto

panini with cheese and prosciutto

After a very valuable and enjoyable visit to Metro store on Saturday, I used several ingredients I purchased there for some home cooking for 潘蕾 and myself.

Sunday lunch time I used half package of gnocchi with Siciliana pasta sauce and added some more green olives (ohh.. I missed olives so much!) discovering that olives are not so common as part of normal dishes for Chinese people. 潘蕾 was in fact little skeptical about them in the pasta sauce. Normally Chinese people eat very salty and sometimes spicy olives as side dishes, not using them for cooking other foods. I admit I do not remember olives  in Chinese food!

Then since I bought good break, cheese and hams, I combined all and put in the over for a second serving of delicious mixed Italian taste (ok, the cheese was not really Italian one!).

Good results, both for me and for my Chinese guest 🙂

FUNNY THING OF THE DAY – Among the several great foods I got, I bought frozen hamburgers. When I took up the bag I was surprised by the thickness of the meat, but then I thought it could have been a combination of freezing of fluids inside the minced meat and also some “artistic” growing of meat products over here, by using some hormones etc. (like the ones that Contador, Spanish cycle “champion” sets as causes of his failure of doping test). So I thought that once the meat was defrost and cooked the hamburger thickness would have seriously decreased..

..and I was wrong!!

First, probably the animal doping effect is relevant for steak and similar dishes: when you cook those meat cuts, they become usually thinner than before cooking.. but, true, with minced meat, the effect could not be big.

So, I was extra surprised (not unhappy, quite the opposite!!) when my hamburger was slowly and well cooking and still keeping about 3-4 cm of thickness!!!

A healthy salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing as  side dish of these huge hamburgers with bacon, yes, real one!, egg, tomatoes, cucumber (olives for me), cheese.. I know, I know.. I should have let the cheese melting more.. but trust me, I was starving the time the hamburgers were well cooked!!
super hamburgers

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 08 2011
kat

That looks good! I love hamburgers too lol. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice 🙂

Like

2 08 2011
aikidude

Advice?
Keep blogging those wonderful recipes!!

Even if I die a little inside seeing all the delicious foods you make!!
And I especially love pictures, as you probably could guess as well!

Really well done!

Like

Leave a Reply

