15 years of Aikido

18 09 2011

16 years ago today I went to my first Aikido new beginner training in Trondheim, at NTNUI sport center, Gløshaugen. Monday 18th September 1995. The Saturday, 2 days before, it is when I met Karsten and Simona, when Karsten talked with me for the first time about this thing called Aikido and since I was an Erasmus exchange student just arrived in Norway (30th July 1995) and interested in new experiences, I decided, why not, let’s give a try to a martial art..

..if I don’t like it, I will change!

From that moment I had 1 year break during my civil service in Torino, in 1998, not because there was no Aikido (quite the opposite!!) but because my mind was not able to find Aikido thoughts during an extremely demanding and enriching life experience working with drug addicted at Gruppo Abele, in the crises center (Centro Crisi).

Besides that long year, and a few injures that slow me down a bit, I have never really left Aikido..

Not even now, in China, even if I practice less than a lazy beginner.. but my mind is always there, on the tatami, together with all my Aiki-friends I have met during these years..

So many people, so many faces, so many friendships established on the mats, from almost anywhere in the world..

So many experiences, good and bad, so many trips, many bows in front of o’Sensei pictures of different kamiza, so much I have learnt and seen and I am still, and always be, a beginner..

I did not have much time to prepare this post and I will write much more the next days (I am in Shanghai right now.. hopefully preparing myself to a second session!) but I wanted to celebrate with my readers a quite important anniversary in my life, since Aikido from a one time experience, a hobby, an unknown thing to try, has become a fundamental aspect of what makes me.. Aikidude..

aikido and me... ;-)

Aikidude

As soon as you concern yourself with the ‘good’ and ‘bad’ of your fellows, you create an opening in your heart for maliciousness to enter. Testing, competing with, and criticizing others weaken and defeat you.

~ Morihei Ueshiba, O’Sensei

(inspired by my friend, Accidental Aikidoist!)

Actions

Information

One response

18 09 2011
svein

congratulations my friend! 😉

Like

Leave a Reply

