Wuhan food experience

22 11 2011

Like Hangzhou, also in Wuhan, every time I visit, my local friends enjoy to take me to eat some local popular food.

This time I had a chance to taste one of the 2 typical kind of noodles from Wuhan area: 炸酱面, Zhá jiàng miàn, or black bean sauce noodle was my breakfast, while Yang Bin took the one even more typical called 热干面, Rè gān miàn, hot and dry noodles. Both are common breakfast treats, together with a beef soup (maybe next time!!).

I tried once before the hot and dry noodles, but bought as already made in a box here in Hefei. I admit then, once given the choice, I decided for the noodles without the hot part!! Wuhan is famous for both hot weather and hot food, in the meaning of spicy!!

In fact I had also a chance to taste another tasty street food: barbecue squid (鱿鱼, Yóuyú) à la Wuhan! My friends know I am not eating very spicy, so they asked for not spicy.. Remember that normally the squid is white: so even the “not” spicy version is somewhat spicy, since it is cooked in some special oil mix. The only difference form the spicy one is the add at the end of some powder “magical” pepper thing.. that would make me cry for several days!!!

Great time in Wuhan

炸酱面, black bean sauce noodle

Great time in Wuhan

鱿鱼, squid (bbc)

Other 2 great food experiences in the weekend have been the meals before and after Aikido practice. The former, to give some base for energies (I could only eat a little, knowing my body!!) has been a hot pot ( 火锅, Huǒguō) from a street vendor straight in front of the dojo area. First I have been amazed by the speed they set up the whole place, and the perfect organization (doing the same day in day out).

After practice we went, together with several Aikido people and the TaeKwonDo club boss to another place to have supper, or the night snack (宵夜, Xiāo yè), that was actually a huge dinner!! Among the tasty (and quite spicy dishes) one special little fish from Yangtze river (that cuts through Wuhan) was quite delicious. It is called 泥鳅, Níqiū, in English loach or mudfish. “Scary” name, but tasty and similar to eel, that I love (even if the fish looks very different!).

Great time in Wuhan

火锅, hot pot

Great time in Wuhan

泥鳅, mud fish

FUNNY THING OF THE DAYIrony and sarcasm: Chinese have no idea of what they are!!!! I experienced that many times.. maybe they have it in Chinese language.. but even with people that have a great English, they seem to not catch the meaning between lines.. even if when I do not do anything to hide it (I am sort of very direct!!). Met this girl in Hefei who was working as English interpreter, she’s been long together with American dude and moved to Shanghai to live with him. The girl is desperate to get marry. After 2 months living together, they broke up.The moment she moved there she cut all communication to me (QQ mainly, even here). Few weeks ago she calls me and tells me that now she is single and always like me and wanted to meet me. Told her I have gf and not looking for a change. But since I go often to Shanghai we could meet in the future for a chat. Then she disappears again until today when out of nowhere she sends me the message on QQ that she got bf and she is very happy and really in love (Chinese girls use the word “love” quite easily.. topic for another post!). I am polite saying I’m happy for her and closing the chat.. but she continues repeating the same, and he is so good, etc. so I just reply: “Saying I could not care less it is an euphemism.. at which she replies… “thank you so much, I am so happy!”……. 😀

Actions

Information

One response

22 11 2011
Stina

your blog is interesting!!

Like

Leave a Reply

