2011 wrap-up

8 01 2012

Let’s see what I did resolve to achieve during this year:

  • keep my weight under control..
  • improve my Chinese
  • find a way to practice Aikido in Hefei
  • improve TaiJi
  • take care of the injures
  • keep my new house better than the last one.. less messy!
  • another house related: give my place more personality, for once make it like a home not only a temporary stop (even if it might be)
  • achieve good results in the new job!
  • travel more in China!
  • trying to control my anger, usually against not animated things (like my laptops)
  • take more pictures and being more active again on my blog (got many many Aikido related posts and notes to write down and a few stories as well, even if I am the only one enjoying them!)
  • improve my picture editing (Photoshop and related softwares)
  • being better at keeping contacts with many important friends far far away!
  • try finally to learn to play a guitar (I got one ;-) )

Wow!!!

Was I out of my mind? 🙂

What did I manage to do? Actually very little: ok, I have been active with pictures, even if I still haven’t updated the trip to Japan in 2008! I never used Photoshop this year, but I did use The Gimp and other editing software. And I traveled more in China, both for Aikido (mostly) and not. Thanks to Aikido I discovered though new friends and new places, and the search will continue!

Quite funny what I wrote about injures and weight. They suddenly got related when in the summer I discovered to be affected by rheumatoid arthritis. Lower weight would help my joints, but the pain and swelling cut off for some time the few jogging tours I planned, and then the usual laziness did the rest.. so now I feel like a whale, even if I haven’t been in arthritic pain for quite a while! (Whales don’t have many joints though.. that’s probably the reason!)

My house is still a mess, and it seems I moved in 1 month ago, except for the mess and one room with tatami mats there is little showing my personality. But at least I haven’t destroyed anything new, probably because I have been less angry.

The trip to Norway has actually helped to keep some contacts, refresh some other, not helped with the weight though!

Let’s not mention the guitar (or the dust catcher), sad topic.. Svein would loath me for that!

Chinese still sucks but something good probably I have done it at work, since I will probably get a contract extension, for one more year in Hefei! 🙂

In this year I might finally have found a way to practice locally (I can’t say too much in order to not build too many hopes), but the TaiJi experience ended, with zero practice. The interest is not strong, and that killed the motivations in going a long way.. even if I felt something in the practice. But I don’t think the master will ever take me back next year.

Then, maybe I had regained my sanity when I predicted that:

  • some resolution will become true.. and this year I want to be more realist than before ;-)
  • the world will not be a better place, it won’t be cleaner, it won’t have less wars, it won’t give more profound values to the new generations
  • Italian politics will still suck
  • my Aikido will get much worse
  • I will attend very few Aikido seminars, max 1-2
  • I will see more of China!
  • catholic church will still not recognize unmarried couples, not approve use of condoms for limiting AIDS (only celibacy) and not try to take a step in modern times
  • I will travel a little more that the last 9 months
  • I will not lose my pessimistic/realistic nature
  • my weight will go up and down but at the end it will be more or less the same, as usual!
  • I will meet new interesting people
  • I will learn more Chinese ;-)
  • I will not be lonely

Yeah, I can see I was thinking more realistic when I wrote this!!

A pity the weight went up and down.. and up again.. but on the other hand good to see I went to more Aikido seminars than expected! And even if I am not happy, I don’t think my Aikido is much worse than before (thanks Sverre!)

The one about being lonely was actually a result of several questions I got especially at English corners, if I was lonely.. where people get very surprised when I answer that I am not lonely. As I was not lonely even without a girlfriend.

All in all, the predictions were quite on the spot.. I should just stop hoping to manage to control my weight 😉

..and learning good Chinese as well!! Even if a little more I managed to learn..

Actions

Information

One response

15 01 2012
Alicia Tsao

Maybe I can help with the Learning Chinese part, set you up an account at Yabla Chinese, have you checked out my site? Would love to hear your comment.

-Alicia

Like

Leave a Reply

