Snake fruit!!

6 10 2014

That was the fruit I was not sure of but, yeah, I had it in China before: Salak Pondoh!

IMG_8872.JPG

The name comes from the texture and appearance of the hard but very thin skin. The fruit itself is white and of solid consistence with a smooth brown seed/stone. Two sides of fruit both with a seed each. The taste… this is difficult: not a strong or very distinctive taste. It is quite neutral, not bad and at the same time not a wow like a papaya or mango can make me utter! 🙂





Fruit fruit fruit

6 10 2014

I have just been to the small shop out of Jerry’s compound to buy something to eat and if course I focused in the wonderful South East Asian fruit offer:

IMG_8868.JPG

When I saw the mangosteen and the dimensions of the papaya I could not stop myself. One dragon fruit later I found, still in the fruit session, something I had never seen before (or maybe once in China) and went for it as well:

IMG_8867.JPG

One box of cookies filled with dates and a couple of drink juices I went to pay and this makes me enjoy this country even more:

IMG_8870.JPG

…that means:

IMG_8869.PNG

FUNNY THING OF THE DAY – My first surprise when I arrived in Jakarta was that here they drive on the left side, like in British countries and Japan. Quite a surprise since I can’t recall a British occupation of the area.