Frank Noel, 7.dan, at Vanadis..

24 09 2007

..& more Aikido in Stavanger.. But let’s go in order! 😀

I finally had a chance to practice in a seminar of Frank Noel, after suggestion of several friends! And it had been a good choice! It definitvely helped that my first time with sensei was at Vanadis dojo in Stockholm, a place where I would like to spend much more time.. and seminar after seminar I feel extra-confortable to spend time there, both for the location (beautiful Stockholm) and the people..

And this time I was “living” in the dojo ALONE!!! Jorma advised me againsta the lonely ghost there.. but I guess than when we compare loneliness, I still win, and the ghost did not bothered to show up.. afraid to feel pity for me! 😉

Anyway, stop blabbering..

Frank Noel’s Aikido was very interesting, deeply related to one of my favourite senseiSeishiro Endo, 遠藤征四郎 8.dan Aikikai. I enjoyed very much practicing with Frank and I think it was very helpful his going around the dojo and showing every technique with all the people present on the mats. Furthermore, his comments and suggestions were very precise: I got a lot to work on and I noticed that some of my mistakes, when I do not think, are the same that I correct my students for. I have to focus much more on how I perform the technique and how I have to use my body in an effective way.

However, I admit I have been not too displeased by my own practice. My feelings for the different techniques and exercises were quite good and I was able to keep a good enough focus in order to write notes from each session. I have already used some of these notes for my Aikikai trainings here in Stavanger..

Yep! That’s true! I finally arranged Aikikai practice here, in parallel with the official Tomiki style club at Kampsport Instituttet. From this semester I got 2 teachnig session per week: late sessions, in the few schedule openings: Mondays 21-2230 & Thursdays 2130-2230. A good chance to practice “my” Aikido and see of sopme of the senior student are also interested in that. I decided in fact that the beginners must stick to official Bob trainings in order to avoid a mix up of basics.


Actions

Information

4 responses

24 09 2007
svein

I should have been there.

Started packing for Paris tonight. Like a kid before Christmas 😉

See you there!

Like

2 10 2007
aikidude

I packed too much as usual for Pairs too..
my shoulders….

I wonder yours, with that big whiskey bottle!!!
😀

Like

13 10 2007
Amadou I

Hi AIkidoka,
Please i loste i can’t find Aikido an facilites to practice here wuxi (jiangsu province) China, could u please help me.
Thanks
I’m firt dan blackbelt Aikido from Niger Republique.

Like

15 10 2007
aikidude

Sorry mate, no idea of that!!! 😦

I am not in china anymore.. and i have never practice there!
I suggest to contact some martial art center there!

Good luck!!

Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.