Wet mid-autumn!

9 09 2011

For the second year I do not expect the mid-autumn festival (中秋节, Zhōngqiū Jié) to be dry.. and for the second year, no chance to see a big full moon, as it should be on Monday!

But even if I can’t see the moon, I’m sure I’ll see several mooncakes, 月饼(yuè bĭng), that I discovered to love!!

Last year I took them to Italy and Vienna, to share with some European friends, and I have been a little surprised that they had not been very successful! Not too big of a pity: my father, like me, liked them very much, so they did not go wasted!! 😉

This year I even found several mroe interesting tastes for mooncakes: typical are red bean (with and without egg), lotus (with and without egg).. but this year I discovered (ok, 潘蕾 helped me to discover!) dates, chestnut, 5 seeds and then the very special ones with cappuccino, chocolate and coffee taste!!

Chestnuts ar really common over here. The summer left its place to autumn weather so fast that it is already a couple of weeks that you can see chestnut sellers around the city. I always loved chestnut, but in Norway I never bought them (quite expensive). In some ways they are more memories of my youth, in Biella, walking to the center and buying caldarroste.. but I remember it was already November, if not December!

chestnut seller

traditional handheld scale

FUNNY THING OF THE DAY – As my Italian friend who lives now in Trnondheim was commenting at the picture link, the price is different from Italy or Norway!! The amount of chestnut in the picture came at 12 yuan, but you can find also cheaper ones!! These were really big ones.. and sooooooo gooooooood!!! Ah.. Chinese prices.. always a shock when compared to European ones!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

