First night, first day!

3 11 2012

I had an almost sleepless first night in Longgang, not because of any special bad noise or because I was too excited or nervous for the new job. Of course, I had some thoughts about today, but it was not really the main reason.

In Hefei I have lived 2 years and 7 months in an apartment at the 13th floor of a building inside a compound in.. the countryside, as we called it! Nan Yan lake area was never a very busy area, even if in the last 2+ years they finished building 2 compounds on the northern side of mine and more people moved in. But the “life” there remained mainly as a countryside city border kind, with no special night open place (actually there was a “cafe'” open 24 hours meant for Mahjong players and there were now building a typical Chinese bath)

from my window

Here in Longgang I live in a nice sort of double room apartment inside the factory area, a typical Chinese dorm concept, and the factory itself is in the back street of one quite large city road, ie. I am surrounded by building and closer to normal people life. Also I am at the 3rd floor, therefore closer to street sounds. Not noisy at all (the factory as said is not straight on a main road) but for me it was an interesting change of auditory scenery.

So a few times during the night I got up and went at the window just to have a look outside: truth to be said, down here the place seems to be extremely alive at night, with several people eating in the small restaurants I could see from the window or people just walking around, probably going home after the night out.. A nice view!

Then it came the first day at work, where things, especially at the beginning, as usual  are still a little messy. Especially now I got much to understand and learn about the new business and challenges. And the new work I am supposed to do. I think I got to learn again some design electronics and hands-on electronics, at least until we will have a larger team of engineers. Interesting, intriguing and.. scaring at the same time! 🙂

Longgang

As posted somewhere else and told by several friends, these south cities are nightlife places.. but not always it means good for business, like shown in the following set of pics of some abandoned KTV palce here in Longgang:

Abandoned KTV and Nightclub Longgang Shenzhen China

FUNNY THING OF THE DAY – (First day, things!) Walking around, for the first time, after work, I noticed first the huge amount of typical small restaurants in the street. In 50 meters from the factory to the first large crossing I passed maybe 10 of them! This is a lot even for China I would say!
The restaurants is not the only thing that catch my attention during the “first steps” outside the company, as uncommon as well (at least in Hefei): the high number of extremely well dressed pretty girls, with short skirts and beautiful long legs (apparently KTV, night clubs, bars, etc workers). It was a struggle for my head to keep up turning from side to side.
Then I noticed (heard first) several bikes with a comfortable seat on the rear carrying around these pretty girls. At first I thought lucky boyfriends, but then noticed the amount of similar bikes and the difference in clothing (beauty) between the “passenger” and the driver: these must be bicycle taxi. They also got a special bike bell, the kind of the typical child (or dog) plastic toy that makes the squeaking sound when pressed (I always think about the movie Snatch and the dog eating the plastic toy, so making the same squeak every time trying to barf!).
Last funny thing for today, less funny though, is that even with my good tunnel (used efficiently for blog and FB) I cannot open youtube at all! Yeah, I know, not funny for me!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

